Completed: Double crochet scarf

I am super proud of my very first scarf! Is it perfect? No. Is it functional? Very much so. I also completed it in only 2 days so it was pretty fast as well.

The yarn is Roma Big colour 12 from Scheepjeswol. It’s 100% acryl. I would have preferred to use a natural fiber but I also wanted to keep my first large project simple and thought it best to use a yarn that doesn’t split easily. This yarn fit that bill and I also really like this colour. The scarf only required two balls of yarn and I used a 10 mm hook (US size N) to make it. At the beginning of the scarf I did 19 double crochet stitches per row and at the end 20. By the time I discovered I had accidently added one stitch too many at some point I would have had to unravel nearly half of what I had already done and figured it wasn’t really all that noticeable so decided to leave it.

 The scarf is about as long as I am tall, which is 1.65m and it’s going to keep me really warm this winter.

8 comments on “Completed: Double crochet scarf

  1. Claire says:

    Congratulations for making your first crochet item! It’s a lovely colour on you. I hope you enjoy wearing it.

  2. Deborah says:

    Yay for you! It really looks awesome. Love the color! It really does get easier the more you practice. I’m so thrilled for you! :-)

    • Emmely says:

      Thank you! I am also really happy with the colour, much more fun than the grey scarf that I wore before!

      • Deborah says:

        A good time of year for adding a touch of color! Happy New Year! :-)

      • Emmely says:

        Happy new year to you as well! The funny thing is, I now see this colour everywhere. Could I unbeknowingly be following a trend? Seriously, we went to the opera this afternoon and when I was waiting in line for the bathroom there were 3 (!) women in front of me wearing a jacket in this colour.

  3. Julie says:

    Your scarf looks great! The more you crochet the easier it becomes, I mostly make hats and my favorite hooks are Susan Bates I baked fimo clay handles on them so they fit in my hand better – several of my friends like Clover hooks but I haven’t tried them yet

    • Emmely says:

      Thank you! Perhaps I’ll have to look into fimo clay, I still find the narrow hooks difficult to work with and as a result I hardly ever do crochet anymore while I really liked it when I worked with the thick handled hook I used for this scarf.

Your comments make my day!

